Assignment 3 pre-production: Some music

I’ve found the website OP Sound and have done some browsing through their archives (the two genres “instrumental” and “acoustic“). I’ve found some beautiful songs that I think might be the right tone for the intro we’re planning.

I’m going to try and describe the songs and what I think makes them appropriate (or inappropriate) for our project but I am not a music person and I am not used to working with audio. My descriptions are likely to be clumsy, so I apologise in advance.

LA ATLANTIDA

This song is by ORQUESTA ARRECIFE. It’s a piano song that starts off rather slow and melancholic and then speeds up slightly to become a bit more energetic with a bit of a jazz-touch at time (starting at around 44 seconds in).

This song is similar to the music used in the “Misconception” intro.

Personally I really like this song, but it may not be the right tone for this intro.

LA MORDAZA

This song is also by ORQUESTA ARRECIFE. It uses mostly guitar, piano, and some synthesized organ (I think). It’s fairly slow and calm and sounds a little like the blues.

The entire song is only 1 minute 2 seconds long, so if we choose this song we will need to use the entire song (rather than just using a snippet).

GO DOWN THAT HILL (PIEDMONT RAG NO. 1) FOR STEEL STRING GUITAR TRIA (2012)

This song is by LEWIS KRAUTHAMER. As the title says, it uses steel string guitars. It starts off lazy and relaxed for the first minute and than (rather abruptly) becomes slower and more depressing but then quickly changes back to its lazy, relaxed tone at around 1 minute 30 seconds. I think this song sounds rather eerie (both the slower, depressed parts and the lazy, relaxed parts), like an audio version of the uncanny valley. The song becomes especially unsettling at the end of the song, starting at around 3 minutes 15 seconds.

YEAH

This song is by DHALIUS. It’s a guitar song with a fairly fast pace. I think it’s much too happy, bright, and upbeat for our project.

WE ALL ARE A WONDERFUL LIFE

This song is by DHALIUS. It’s a guitar song with a simple melody. It’s fairly fast and I think it sounds rather mysterious. It’s also rather upbeat but not as bright as “YEAH”.

OUTLAW

This song is by ANTAMERICA. It’s a guitar song with a slow beat, simple repetitive melody, and a Western feel (which shouldn’t be surprising since it’s called “OUTLAW”). The song is written from the perspective of a person running from the law, so the lyrical content isn’t exactly suited to our intro’s story. We could edit this song down to only have the instrumental intro (which is about 40 seconds) and the instrumental ending (which lasts about 15 seconds). We could also edit in some of the lyrics out of context (for example when he sings “outlaw” and “lord save my soul”, which both come up at the end of the song; which could add another 5-10 seconds). I’ve already tried editing the song a few times using a program called Audacity and it sounds alright.

SUFI’S DREAM

This song is also by ANTAMERICA. It’s a rather creepy guitar song with a slow pace and a clear melody. I think this song sounds ominous and mysterious. The entire song is 1 minute 6 seconds, so if we use it we will need to use the entire song (rather than just a snippet).

Leave a comment